Foreword...

 

If design emerges from a continuous experimental process, then prerequisites were necessary. These prerequisites are made up of historical knowledge and the empirical procedures that follow, knowledge of habits, but also of visions, “provoked chance” and “intellectual freedom”. In addition, extreme ability to concentrate, discipline and perseverance seem to be necessary, but also consideration, respect and analysis regarding material and tools. The whole thing is accelerated by the conscious use of suggestion factors which temporarily change the psychological and biological correlations of the designer personality. If development times are allowed during the creative process and mindsets are overturned due to unwanted changes in perception, the platform for artistic approaches is created. Results could possibly be exhibited.
However, if the transport of a message plays a role, the process takes place under the influence of this intention. The inclusion of social and cultural responsibility in the creative process would be important here in order not only to communicate something specific to society, but also to give - scope for interpretation - to spark and / or to stimulate thinking.
For a "overloaded", economically oriented society with a crumbling understanding of art, abstraction, aesthetics, philosophy, quality etc. - primarily due to curricular structures - a corresponding message would be necessary.
Martin Kofler has already visualized both sensations and messages in the past and has already provided directions with pre-stage objects that show future potential. A visible direction has crystallized out and stabilized at the moment. Martin Kofler has implemented the results of this as yet unfinished creative phase and the development process could be justified with the thesis described above, the quality shows itself accordingly. May nothing deter Mr. Kofler from his current path.

Prof. Hans Richard Heitmann

Martin Kofler - new works ....


Viewed from a distance, Martin Kofler's pictures seem like everyday scenes, snapshots, seconds of current events, sometimes in bright, but often also submerged in earthy, somber tones.
Medium-sized and large-format works that slowly gain in transparency and in terms of content as well as technical complexity, and which give a hint that there is more to them than picture and surface.
Scenarios that reveal secrets, ask more and more questions the closer you get to them. Multi-dimensional surfaces, partly exposed, partly spilled, buried and scratched out.
Layers, textures, fractions, words - sometimes readable, often just guesswork, open the senses beyond the visual ...
A freeway scene that seems realistic from a distance ( Neue Götter , 2010), trivial on the surface, albeit visually engaging, gains in message and question ... Like a hologram - only now recognizable on closer examination - "God" emblazoned towards us, mirror image , in the colors of the omniscient www.Google God.

Statements and questions, sometimes with enormous explosiveness, such as “ Project Genesis ”, a work that was created in 2009, which formally seems to predict the scandal of the year 2010 and, moreover, asks even more multidimensional questions about morality, value system and human nature Contrast to melancholy beautiful journeys into childish memories ( prospects , 2009), which awaken long-buried memories and emotions in the viewer without lingering in the bold.


No picture without a question, no work without a secret - works that, when viewed, give rise to hope of understanding the course of the world a little better ( Machine Zeit , 2008), an alternating pool of dreams, hope and somber disillusionment, without the back door to one to strike realistically better world.

On closer inspection, supposedly provocative topics turn out to be deeply human scenes ( Absolution , 2010) - leaving the viewer with more questions than answers, they do not contrast with panels that seemingly carry a difficult legacy in a decorative and decorative manner ( Himmler - preliminary stage 21 , 2009) Art as amusement, neither decoration nor play of colors.
Images that shake up, arouse and move emotions.
Good and innocent and pure ( women of today , 2009) against the power of darkness ( interchangeable , 2009), far away there and also at home ( modern escapes , 2009) a struggle of the worlds - every day ... inside and out - but Anyone who sees Martin Kofler's works not as individual works but as a whole feels the positive power and the news - or is it a question?

Stephan Boos, photo artist

  • Black Facebook Icon

Vorwort...


Wenn Gestaltung aus einem kontinuierlichen experimentellen Prozess heraus entsteht, dann waren Voraussetzungen vonnöten. Diese Voraussetzungen setzen sich zusammen aus geschichtlichem Wissen und daraus folgenden empirischen Vorgehensweisen, aus der Erkenntnis von Gewohnheiten, aber auch aus Visionen, aus »provoziertem Zufall« und aus »geistiger Freiheit«. Notwendig scheinen zudem äußerste Konzentrationsfähigkeit, Disziplin und Durchhaltevermögen aber auch Rücksichtnahme, Respekt und Analyse bezüglich Stofflichkeiten und Werkzeugen zu sein. Forciert wird das Ganze durch den bewussten Einsatz von Suggestionsfaktoren, welche die psychischen und biologischen Korrelationen der Gestalterpersönlichkeit vorübergehend verändern. Wenn dann noch Entwicklungszeiten während des Schaffensprozess zugelassen werden und Denkrichtungen aufgrund ungewollter Veränderungen in der Empfindung umgeworfen werden, so ist die Plattform für künstlerische Ansätze geschaffen. Ergebnisse könnten unter Umständen exhibiert werden.
Spielt jedoch der Transport einer Botschaft eine Rolle, so verläuft der Prozess unter Einfluss dieser Intention ab. Hier wäre die Einbeziehung sozialer– und kultureller Verantwortung in den Schaffensprozess von Bedeutung, um nicht nur der Gesellschaft etwas Spezifisches mitzuteilen, sondern Interpretationsspielräume – zu geben – zu entfachen und/oder zum Denken anzuregen.
Für eine »überlastete«, wirtschaftlich orientierte Gesellschaft mit abbröckelndem Verständnis für Kunst, Abstraktion, Ästhetik, Philosophie, Qualität etc. – zurückzuführen in erster Linie auf curriculare Strukturen – wäre eine entsprechende Botschaft geradezu notwendig.
Martin Kofler visualisierte bereits in der Vergangenheit sowohl Empfindungen als auch Botschaften und legte mit Vorstufenobjekten bereits Richtungen vor, die Zukunftspotential zeigen. Eine sichtbare Richtung hat sich zur Zeit bei ihm herauskristallisiert und stabilisiert. Ergebnisse dieser noch nicht abgeschlossenen Schaffensphase hat Martin Kofler umgesetzt und der Entstehungsprozess könnte mit oben beschriebener These begründet werden, die Qualität zeigt sich entsprechend. Möge Herrn Kofler nichts von seinem derzeitigen Weg abhalten.

Prof. Hans Richard Heitmann

Martin Kofler – neue Arbeiten....


Martin Koflers Bilder wirken aus der Distanz betrachtet wie Alltagsszenen, Momentaufnahmen, Sekunden des Zeitgeschehens, teils in leuchtende, oft aber auch in erdige, düstere Töne getaucht.
Mittelgroße und großformatige Arbeiten, die bei langsamer Annäherung an Transparenz und sowohl inhaltlicher als auch technischer Vielschichtigkeit gewinnen und schnell erahnen lassen, dass mehr in ihnen liegt als Bild und Oberfläche.
Szenarien, die Geheimnisse ahnen lassen, mehr und mehr Fragen stellen, je näher man ihnen kommt. Mehrdimensionale Oberflächen, teils offen liegend, teils verschüttet, begraben und hervorgekratzt.
Schichten, Texturen, Brüche, Worte – teils lesbar, oft lediglich zu erahnen, öffnen die Sinne jenseits des Visuellen…
Eine auf Entfernung realistisch wirkende Autobahnszene (Neue Götter, 2010), an der Oberfläche inhaltlich trivial, wenngleich schon visuell vereinnahmend, gewinnt an Aussage und an Frage… Wie ein Hologramm – erst jetzt bei näherer Auseinandersetzung erkennbar – prangt uns „Gott“ entgegen, spiegelbildlich, in den Farben des allwissenden www.Google-Gottes.

Aussagen und Fragen, teils mit enormer Brisanz, wie „Projekt Genesis“, ein im Jahr 2009 entstandenes Werk, das formal den Skandal des Jahres 2010 vorauszusagen scheint und darüber hinaus noch sehr viel mehrdimensionalere Fragen zu Moral, Wertesystem und menschlicher Natur stellt, stehen im Kontrast zu melancholisch schönen Reisen in kindliche Erinnerungen (Aussichten, 2009), die ohne im Plakativen zu verweilen beim Betrachter lang verschüttete Erinnerungen und Emotionen wecken.


Kein Bild ohne Frage, keine Arbeit ohne Geheimnis – Arbeiten, bei deren Betrachtung die Hoffnung keimt, den Gang der Welt ein wenig besser zu verstehen (Maschine Zeit, 2008), ein Wechselbad aus Traum, Hoffnung und düsterer Ernüchterung, ohne die Hintertür zu einer realistisch besseren Welt zuzuschlagen.

Vermeintlich provokante Themen entpuppen sich bei genauerer Betrachtung als zutiefst menschliche Szenen (Absolution, 2010) – den Betrachter mit mehr Fragen als Antworten zurücklassend kontrastieren sie mit Platten, die vordergründig hübsch und dekorativ ein schweres Erbe tragen (Himmler – Vorstufe 21, 2009) – nicht Kunst als Amüsement, weder Dekoration noch Farbenspiel.
Bilder, die aufrütteln, Emotionen wecken und bewegen.
Gut und unschuldig und rein (Frauen von heute, 2009) gegen die Macht der Dunkelheit (Austauschbar, 2009), dort weit weg und auch daheim (Moderne Fluchten, 2009) ein Kampf der Welten - tagtäglich... innen, wie außen – doch wer Martin Koflers Werke nicht als Einzelarbeiten versteht sondern als Gesamtheit sieht, der spürt die positive Kraft und die Nachricht – oder ist es eine Frage ?

Stephan Boos, Fotokünstler

  • Black Facebook Icon